For dinner day 3 – I was craving some spice!! So I looked online for a delicious recipe with just the right amount of kick to it. What I found was a recipe from Sunset Magazine Issue May 2010 for a Southwest Grilled Chicken topped with Anaheim chiles, avocado and Monterey jack cheese. You can check it out here.

I decided to use the barbecue to grill the chicken and the anaheim chiles, unfortunately, it ran out of propane half way through. So I took the chicken and ended up baking it at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes. The result was still deliciously juicy chicken. I also took the peppers and pan fried them, which didn’t turn out as great as I had hoped, but still worked on certain sides of the chiles (which I used to cut up and peel to lay over the chicken).

Usually I’m not a huge fan of spicy foods. This meal was the perfect amount of spice, and I feel like the avocado mixed with the chiles definitely helped with the spice factor.

I used the same website (above) to find a super easy side dish called Speedy Mexican Rice and Beans from Southern Living Magazine Issue September 2006. The recipe is here. This was the PERFECT combo for the chicken, and topped off with sour cream and cheese it was amazing.

I also purchased a cantaloupe and sliced that up to serve with it.

The wine we drank with this meal was the leftover Shiraz from [ yellow tail ].

You can read about the wine here.

All in all this meal was great, and not to mention good looking ;). Definitely try it out this summer for something different.

Also – I’ve already had 44 views since starting YumScrumptious! I am soooo shocked and grateful! Thank you to you all for reading!!

