For dinner day 4, I decided I wanted something fresh to go with this scorching summer heat. So the bf and I went on over to Safeway and purchased the following items for this recipe.

4 Fillets of Tilapia (fresh not frozen)

Corn tortillas

Iceberg Lettuce

Mangos

Jalapeno

Red onion

Cilantro

Sounds like quite a refreshing shopping list right?

Ok so.. the recipe is Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa – the fish taco recipe above links to the Mango Salsa recipe which is DIVINE!!

It was a bit more preparation than the previous meals I have posted, but all worth the while. And the mango salsa was a perfect combination with the fish. This was my first attempt at cooking fish, and I feel like it went pretty well. The salsa is a combination of mangoes, a red onion, a jalapeno, lime juice and cilantro (maybe a couple of other things, check out the recipe for details). Best of all, it looked pretty too!!

The fish was fairly easy to cook and quick as well, especially since the fillets were pretty thin. I put a few teaspoons of olive oil in a non-stick pan and let the fish cook over medium heat for about a minute or two on each side.

For assembly, the lettuce was soaked in a cider vinegar and salt mixture, and I diced an avocado. I put it all out on the table to allow people to build their own tacos however they liked.

For the side, I made a cup and a half of rice (more than enough for 4 people). After it was done cooking, I added about a handful of fresh chopped cilantro and about 1 Tbsp of lime juice. Mmmmm, it was so delicious.

Definitely check this recipe out for something different and perfect for the summer heat.

