mmmm... Fritos

So, before I start to lose track, I am no longer going to be using “Dinner Day #” for my blog titles. From now on, all blog posts will be titled with the meal and/or item being featured. With that being said, today’s post is more of a guest post (although I am writing it). The meal is Fritos Taco Salad which was made for dinner last night by our roommate (my sister’s boyfriend).

They made a delicious taco salad – with a twist. Instead of using boring old regular tortilla chips, he used Fritos Scoops. I had never even thought about doing something like this, but it turned out absolutely delicious! The Fritos flavor was just perfect with the blend of ingredients (which will be mentioned later, keep reading!).

This definitely was an inspiring meal as well, because it reminds me to never underestimate the power of your ingredients. Things can be switched up or substituted to make meals even better than before, or even just for a tasty change.

For the taco salad, he browned 1lb of ground beef turkey that was mixed with a taco seasoning packet (not sure of the brand, but I see them at the store all the time). The salads were built to our liking and included the following items:

Ground beef  turkey

Fritos Scoops corn chips

Canned corn

Black beans

Diced tomatoes

Diced avocado

Lettuce

Sliced olives

Sour cream

Salsa

It was interesting to watch the four of us build our salads because they all turned out so different. I put mine in a bowl to reduce the mess and I was able to crunch up the Fritos into small chunks so I could eat it with my fork. All in all, thank you Nick for the delicious meal as well as a YumScrumptious post 🙂

Build Your Own Taco Salad

