This will be the first Dollar Saving Dinner Day for this blog. Everyone goes through rough times, or in my case, money saving times when you can’t always just run to the grocery store and buy whatever your heart desires. But that doesn’t mean that you should run to the nearest Jack in the Box for $.99 tacos (although, I am guilty). As I have been continuing my cooking journey, I’ve learned that it’s just as important to be able to make something out of nothing.

So for the first Dollar Saving Dinner Day – We made Tuna Mac. This is one of our go-to staples for a quick and easy cheap dinner. My boyfriend usually makes it (he actually introduced me). It only requires 4 ingredients that most people have laying around (especially if you have kids – I’m a sucker for kids’ food). Let’s get started.

The ingredients you need –

1 box of Mac n Cheese (I use Kraft, because I feel it’s the best tasting, but you can use whatever you like)

– you also need all ingredients necessary to make the Mac n Cheese according to package directions

1 can of tuna (I use Chicken of the Sea tuna in water)

1 can of cream of mushroom soup (again, I use name brand Campbell’s just because I feel that it has the best coloring and texture)

1 can of green beans (I use cut green beans)

First – make the box of Mac n Cheese according to the package directions.

I usually wait to mix in the cheese until the next step – which is mixing in the cream of mushroom soup.  I find that this makes it a bit easier to mix in the cheese. You then simply mix in all the other items.

From this point, you can either re-warm and serve, or for an extra tasty rendition – put the mixture into a glass casserole dish, sprinkle cheddar cheese over the top and bake for about 10 minutes @ 350.

 

Sorry there are no pictures. We made this late last night and I just didn’t even think about posting it until now. This is one of my favorite meals for something last minute and simple. Let me know if you try it and what you think!

 

 

