Time for another dollar saving dinner –

Right now I am currently saving for a trip to Hawaii, my  sister’s 21st birthday, fall semester (school is NOT cheap), my vehicle registration PLUS all my other expenses. During times like these it’s important to not sacrifice the quality of the food you eat just because it “feels” like fast food is cheaper.

This dinner has been handed down from my Dad for as long as I can remember (my parents were SUPER savers when it came to making sure their family was eating right). It’s a super simple recipe to conjure and only requires a few relatively low cost ingredients. My sister actually put the meal together this particular time, but it turned out exactly as Dad always made it – delicious every time.

All this meal needs is rice, black beans, avocado and cheese (or cheese substitute like we used this particular time). You cook the rice according to the package directions. We usually do about 1 1/2 cups of rice for every 1 can of black beans. Once the rice is cooked you mix in the black beans and pour into a casserole dish. Bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes. Sprinkle cheese over the top and put back into the oven until the cheese is melted. Then slice up an avocado and layer over the top. My sister added corn to this particular recipe, which was also quite good. I’m sure other things could be added as well (I love changing things up!). All in all, the meal is filling, saves money and is quick and easy to make. What more could ya want? 😉

