20131011_194804On Friday night, my Mom brought me a huge basket of apples from her tree in the backyard. I believe they are of the golden delicious variety, and man, oh man, they are delicious.  Since I had already planned on making pumpkin muffins (which I will be posting later), my Mom decided to make some apple sauce. It was way easier than I thought it would be and turned out amazing!

20131011_221829

Simply, wash and cut up enough apples to fill a slow cooker and cook for 4 hours on high (or I suppose you could do 8 hours on low). We left the skins on, but you could peel them if you want. I thought it might be weird with the skins, but they ended up cooking down into the sauce to where you can barely tell they were in there at all.  Once cooked, and the apples are tender, drain the juice. You can either let this run down the sink, or save it for hot cider! Once drained, use a potato masher to crush down the apples until you get the desired texture you like. We left ours a little but more chunky than your typical store bought apple sauce. We also didn’t add any sugars or spices which was fine because the apples were sweet enough. We did, however, add a big mound of whipped cream. This is a perfect fall dessert and best of all was totally guilt free! I am also going to be using this apple sauce in a couple other recipes that I have been wanting to test. And this morning, I used it as a topping for homemade apple cinnamon pancakes which were amazing! I will be posting that recipe probably later today.  Let me know if you have any creative ideas for apple sauce. 🙂

20131011_222141

