Weekends are my favorite – well, I think most people would say that, at least those of us that work during the week. My favorite part about the weekends is breakfast or brunch. Waking up early and drinking my coffee or tea while making something delicious just makes my entire day. And although, I am not a morning person, I would like to think I would be if I had the time every morning to concoct a tasty jump start before hitting the road.

Back before I started this culinary journey, I would make pancakes from the bag – you know the Krusteaz or Bisquick bag of white dust. During that time, I was never a big fan of pancakes. The consistency was always weird, and the taste was bland unless it was flooded in butter and syrup – ick. But, in recent weekends, I’ve started making my own pancakes from scratch. I started simple at first with just regular old pancakes, and the first time I made them I was blown away. There are so many other ingredients besides powder and water to make these delicious, so it’s no wonder the bagged version tastes so boring! I will no longer be using the prepackaged pancake mix. Pancakes from scratch are so easy to make and use ingredients I generally have in my kitchen, so there’s really no excuse to go back.

I found the original version of this recipe on http://www.pastryaffair.com and WOW her photos are amazing!! Seriously, they make mine look like a toddler took them, so be sure to check that site out. If her post doesn’t make you want to make these, nothing will. I just changed a couple things on her recipe so I’ll include my version here. She also included a great recipe for an apple cinnamon topping, but I ended up using the apple sauce I made earlier (check that out here). I should also mention, that this recipe calls for apple cider, I’m sure you could use store version of cider (not apple juice), but since I had so many apples sitting around, I juiced my own and used that cider to make these. Here we go…

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 Tbsp brown sugar, packed
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1 large egg
1 cup apple cider
2 Tbsp butter, melted

Mix all of the dry ingredients together. Once combined create a well in the center – I used the bottom of my measuring cup. Pour liquid ingredients into the well and whisk together until smooth ( a few lumps is okay). Use a 1/4 measuring cup to pour into a warm pan, and flip when that side is browned. These will look a bit more dark than your average pancake because of the cinnamon, but oh man do these smell amazing!!

pancakes

For me these made 5 medium sized pancakes. I warmed up the apple20131013_110117 sauce and put on top and topped off with organic maple syrup. I will definitely be making these again! Or perhaps in a waffle version – yum! Enjoy!

 

 

 

