This weekend was so amazing! I spent all of Friday night baking with my mom, and all of Sunday day baking and eating, and Saturday I had an outdoor show with my band (Once An Empire). The outdoor shows are so fun! I just love playing under the sun and being able to enjoy the beautiful weather. The amphitheater in the park looked pretty cool too. 20131012_105001

Anyways, Friday night my mom showed me how to make Sugar Free Applesauce, and I made some amazing Maple Glazed Pumpkin muffins. I brought them as breakfast for our show as well, and those things went fast! They go great with coffee and tea, and are perfect for breakfast because they’re not too sweet but still have that hint of maple flavor.

I found the original recipe on http://www.pinchofyum.com, and made my FB_IMG_13815522711105944own changes per the usual (used all-purpose unbleached flour, substituted olive oil for vegetable oil, used organic 100% maple syrup instead of regular). These were exactly what I was looking for after making my pumpkin cheesecakes – something I can snack on any time of day guilt free. My favorite part of these muffins were how to tops poofed up and the perfect consistency (as I’m not usually a big cakey consistency fan). The glaze over the top is also the perfect pairing for these and would go well over a variety of different muffins or even breads.

Pumpkin Muffins

3 1/2 c. flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp (each) cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c. granulated sugar
2 c. pumpkin puree
1/2 c. vegetable oil
1/4 c. 100% maple syrup
3 Tbsp milk
3 eggs

Maple Glaze

2 Tbsp butter
1 1/4 c. powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp maple syrup
1-2 Tbsp. water

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.20131011_190227 Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and sugar). In another bowl, mix the wet ingredients (pumpkin, oil, maple syrup, milk, and eggs). Combine the dry and wet ingredients in a large mixing bowl, stirring until just combined.Ā  Fill each muffin tin almost to the top batter ā€“ it will seem like alot, but this is what gives the muffins their beautiful poofy tops. Bake for 20 minutes or until tops are puffy and spring back when you press them. Remove from the muffin pan and let cool before glazing. For the glaze, melt butter in saucepan. Add powdered sugar and vanilla ā€“ it will be thick and sticky. Stir in maple syrup. Add water until desired consistency is reached – I found that I didn’t need to add any water, but you may need to if you find your mixture is too thick. 20131011_192210

Happy baking!

