20131013_175138

After making my Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes I knew that I had to make more mini cheesecakes with other fall flavors. And it’s no surprise that I immediately settled on apple. These little delights are filled with homemade applesauce and topped with sliced apples and homemade caramel sauce. And WOW are they good! Not only that, I used the same gluten free crust as used in my pumpkin recipe by using oats for the crust instead of crackers or any type of flour mixture. Now my only problem is to figure out what flavor I want to do next! Any suggestions?

Oatmeal Crust (Gluten Free)

1 stick of butter (softened) (1/2c.)

1 cup of oatmeal (I used old fashioned oats)

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

Cream the three ingredients together until well combined and spoon about a tablespoon into the muffin cups. Press down to form crust – I used a small cup to press down into the circular form.

Mini Apple Pie Cheesecakes

2 packages of cream cheese at room temperature (the boxed kind)

1 cup of homemade apple sauce

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

3 eggs

Topping

2 Granny smith apples cut into small pieces – I might try shapes next time!

1/2 recipe amount caramel sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. With a mixer, whisk together the cream20131013_171108 cheese and apple sauce. On low, add sugar until well combined. Still on low, add the cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg. Then add one egg at a time until creamed together. Make sure the mixture is not lumpy and is a thick creamy consistency. Once mixed, use a 1/4 measuring cup to pour over the crusts in the muffin cups. Bake for 25 minutes. After baking, leave in muffin tin to cool for 15 minutes. Then remove from muffin tin and place in the refrigerator for an hour before serving. I let mine cool before adding the caramel sauce and apples as well, to ensure the caramel wouldn’t melt or discolor after adding to the tops of the cheesecakes.

I’ve gotten so many compliments, and I must say, these are one of my favorite items to date! Happy baking!

20131013_175138

 

 

