20131029_193119

I love summer cooking, especially food from a barbecue – I mean you can cook pretty much everything on a grill.  But what do you do when you’re craving a steak, but it’s freezing cold outside and you aren’t even prepared to set up the barbecue outside. I have a couple different ways of doing it that I find super easy, as well as still providing a juicy delicious steak in a relatively short amount of time.

Step one : Marination – or not. With steak, it’s really a matter of preference what you marinate them with, if you marinate them at all. Some cuts, like your tenderloin steaks, rib eyes and new york strip steaks are flavorful, so some suggest using only salt and pepper to flavor. I 20131029_190331have experimented with this as well as a few other options, all of which I have found to be quite tasty.

 

For this particular evening I used only a few items to flavor my beef tenderloin steaks (which I have found to be probably my favorite cut). I used butter (softened), minced garlic, and salt and pepper. This made prep for the meat super simple, and I didn’t have to wait for it to marinate. I think that marinating the steak usually tastes better when I 20131029_190321broil the steak, as it seems to cook it a little more evenly and retain more of the juice then when I pan fry. But this way made them almost just as juicy and was super quick.
If you’re steaks seem thick (more than 2 inches) place wax paper over the top of the steaks and smash with a kitchen mallet or something similar. The best thickness is about 1″-1 1/2″ inches. Once the steaks are “tenderized” mix together the softened butter and minced garlic – I used about half a stick of butter and one large clove of garlic for three steaks. Smear the mixture over the top of the steaks trying to stay as even as possible. Lastly, sprinkle salt and pepper. Once this is done, pour a small amount of olive oil in the bottom of the pan – enough to cover the bottom – and heat over medium high. Place steaks into the pan and fry for about 5 minutes each side or until desired wellness is reached. I served my steaks with a basic baked potato and cucumber slices that I marinated in red wine vinegar and sprinkled with salt and pepper. I ended up having a bottle of chardonnay to drink with it, which is not a normal pair for steak, but was delicious nonetheless. I will post that experience in the wine category for that if you’d like to check it out. 🙂

Do you have any favorite marinade/cut combinations?20131029_193136

 

