20140304_191751_resized

Since about December, I have been eating quite a bit healthier than in previous years. No more fast food, no soda, no processed foods, all whole grains, no food after 9pm, cut back on alcohol, lots of vegetables and all that good stuff.  It would seem that all these sacrifices make it difficult to live with all the cravings I get for my favorite foods –  because your favorites are always the unhealthy options, right? But I don’t want to give up everything! That makes it no fun, and makes it difficult to stick to my new goals. So I’ve been looking for little cheats here and there to make the things I crave, while still delectable, a bit more healthy. One of my new favorite healthy craving crushers is this recipe I found on Pinterest for carrot fries. I was skeptical at first, as I am probably the biggest lover of french fries there is, as well as anything made with potatoes – mmmm starch. But let me tell you, these are absolutely delicious, and incredibly easy to make. Peel and slice as many carrots as your little heart desires into fry shaped pieces. Line a baking sheet with foil and lay those suckers in an even layer on the sheet. Oh yeah, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Now drizzle olive oil over the top of the carrots and swish them around so they get mostly coated. I have made these a couple times and have used salt, pepper, rosemary, and garlic powder – or any combination of these you can think of and all have been delicious. So sprinkle your desired spices on them and pop them in the oven for about 15 minutes. Yum, yum, yum!!

Do you have any alternate recipes to curb your cravings? Leave them in the comments below!

 

 

