Did you know that the $4 container of chip dip you buy at the store costs about as much to make (or less depending what you have at home) and tastes a million times better!? I didn’t until recently when I went crazy and made all my own dip for the Superbowl (yes late post, I know). But seriously people, I felt so cheated when I realized that I could make all of my favorite dips with stuff I have at home (mostly) and that it would taste so incredibly delicious. I made a basic ranch dip, hummus, and salsa. The hummus and the salsa required a food processor, but I’m sure you could also use a blender or some other kind of mixer. Side note – I love my food processor, and I suggest you get one if you don’t have one already. Ok so, all these recipes after the jump!

20140201_180741_resized One of my favorite dips ever to be invented is ranch dip. It goes with everything! Chips, veggies, on wraps as a spread – so much goodness. I love this ranch dip even more because it’s homemade, and typically speaking homemade is always better. Mix the following ingredients together, let chill in the fridge for about and hour and voila!! The best ranch dip you’ve ever had – you’re a genius!1 cup sour cream

1/4 cup mayonnaise (you can add more of this if you so desire, I’m just not a huge fan of mayo)

1 tsp. dried parsely

1/2 tsp. dill weed

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. onion powder

salt and pepper to taste

 

20140201_174902_resized 20140201_173547_resized Ok dip #2 and another one of my favorites that goes with just about anything – hummus. Put all ingredients into your food processor, mix it  up until you get the consistency you desire. I made this hummus without tahini (because I couldn’t find it). But you can add that as well if you wish.

1 can of garbanzo beans or chickpeas

1 lemon, juiced

1/4 cup olive oil

1 garlic clove

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (you can use more or less depending on what you like)

 

20140201_171910_resized 20140201_170802_resizedLast, but certainly not least is salsa. This can be made so many different ways! And unfortunately, this particular recipe was not spicy enough for me and I would have used different tomatoes instead of the grape tomatoes. But basically, you throw 3 handfuls of grape tomatoes, a handful of cilantro, a clove of garlic, a jalapeno (seeded and stemmed), half an onion cut into 1″ pieces, and the juice of a lime into your food processor and mix. Another thing I didn’t particularly enjoy about this was the consistency, I will mix the tomatoes in last next time so that they stay in larger pieces than the other ingredients. I will also be adding another jalapeno or two.

 

So there you have it. 3 basic dips you never have to buy premade ever again. I promise you will like these more, and even if you don’t you can add the ingredients (or take ingredients out) to make it exactly what you want.

Do you have dip recipes that you use for special events or parties? Is it better than store bought? Leave it in the comments!

 

